Have questions about submitting to Pitch Wars or just want to know what it is? Start here!

Blog

Submit to Pitch Wars!

Happy Book Birthday to THE SOUND OF STARS by Alechia Dow

Tuesday, 25 February 2020  |  Posted by Brenda Drake

 

Don’t miss this spectacular debut novel… Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her.

Born in a lab, M0Rr1S was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They’re both breaking the rules for the love of art—and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does.

Ellie’s—and humanity’s—fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution—thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

ORDER NOW

https://www.amazon.com/Sound-Stars-Alechia-Dow/dp/1335911553/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=Alechia+dow&qid=1561887755&s=gateway&sr=8-1
https://www.booksamillion.com/p/9781335911551?AID=10747236&PID=7651142&cjevent=35f47fb957ea11ea828b00660a1c0e12
https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-sound-of-stars-alechia-dow/1131057173?ean=9781335911551
https://www.target.com/p/the-sound-of-stars-by-alechia-dow-hardcover/-/A-76944352
https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-sound-of-stars/9781335911551-item.html?ikwid=Alechia+dow&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0
https://www.harlequin.com/shop/books/9781335911551_the-sound-of-stars.html
https://books.apple.com/us/book/the-sound-of-stars/id1458095458?ign-mpt=uo%3D4
https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781335911551
Alechia Dow is a former pastry chef, food critic, culinary teacher, and Youth Services librarian. When not writing YA sci-fi featuring determined black girls (like herself), you can find her having epic dance parties with her daughter, baking, mentoring, or taking teeny adventures around Europe.

Filed: Books

Leave a reply

Disclaimer:

We’d love your comments but ask that you please keep it polite. Although your views are definitely your own, we do not condone harassment or bullying and don’t want to see it here. We reserve the right to delete any comments for any reason, including being abusive, profane or off topic.

IMPORTANT!
We're thrilled at the different ways those in our Pitch Wars community are giving back—and we encourage them to do so. However, please keep in mind that Pitch Wars is not affiliated with any of these various contests, promotions, etc., including those of our mentors and mentees. Promoting any such opportunities via our social media channels doesn't imply endorsement or affiliation. We encourage you to do your research before participating.

Pitch Wars takes a stand. ANTI-BULLYING. Click here to review our policy