PW #369: Young Adult Contemporary: A HEAVY DOSE OF ALLISON TANDY

Manuscript Status: Finished

Mentor Name: Alicia Clancy

Mentee Name: Jeffrey Bishop

Title: A HEAVY DOSE OF ALLISON TANDY

Category: Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary

Word Count: 86,000 words

Pitch:

Everyone knows a story like this…

Boy meets girl. Boy falls for girl. Boy and girl live happily-ever-after.

This isn’t one of those stories.

More like, boy meets girl. Boy falls for girl. Girl breaks boy’s heart, and then her own when she crashes her car into a tree and doesn’t wake up. The end.

Or is it?

This humorous novel about letting go, moving on, and growing up is perfect for fans of HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME and GOODBYE DAYS.

Excerpt:

If I were to ask you “Where’s the worst place to run into an ex?” you might throw out “the supermarket,” or “on a date with somebody else,” or maybe even “at a family reunion.” To which I would reply, (1) “wrong” (2) “wrong” and (3) “for the love of God, man, stop hooking up with your cousin”.

Because I can tell you, with unequivocal certainty, that the worst place to run into an ex is at your parent’s house, sprawled across the bathroom floor, neck-deep in porcelain. Trust me, I’ve been there.
#
She appeared in-between the dry heaves.

I didn’t see her initially—like I said, ya boy was a bit preoccupied. Everything I’d eaten in the last week or so seemed to be making the pilgrimage up my esophagus and into the toilet bowl.

Well, most of it made it in the bowl.

One can only crutch so fast and vomit is notoriously impatient. Blame the unruly cocktail brewing in the charred remains of my stomach. Part anesthesia, part government-subsidized narcotics. Sorry if this is gross, but I figured I’d tell it exactly the way I remember. Ally sure as Hell won’t be giving her side anytime soon. If you’re looking for a meet-cute, you’ve come to the wrong place.

29 comments to PW #369: Young Adult Contemporary: A HEAVY DOSE OF ALLISON TANDY

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

  

  

  

2 × four =