Have questions about submitting to Pitch Wars or just want to know what it is? Start here!

Blog

Happy Release to BLOOD ROSE REBELLION by Pitch Wars mentor, Rosalyn Eves!

Thursday, 30 March 2017  |  Posted by Brenda Drake

Blood Rose Rebellion (1)

Grab your copy today!

Random House, Barnes & Noble, and Amazon

You can add it to Goodreads here.

About a book … 

In an alternate Victorian England where social prestige stems from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, sixteen-year old Anna Arden is barred from the society she yearns for by a defect of blood. She believes herself Barren, unable to perform the most rudimentary spells. Anna would do anything to belong, but after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spells, Anna finds herself exiled with her aging grandmother to her grandmother’s native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

But in Hungary, Anna finds that nothing about her world or her own lack of magic is quite as it seems. Fissures in the Binding that holds her world’s magic are expanding, and the ancient creatures bound by that spell beg Anna to release them. As rebellion sweeps across Hungary, Anna’s unique ability to break spells becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted—or embrace her ability, destroy the Binding, spark a revolution, and change the face of magic itself.

Set near the height of the Austro-Hungarian empire, this romantic novel will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy and Naomi Novik’s Uprooted.

“A fast-paced historical fantasy full of magic, romance, and adventure that is a must-read for fans of Sorcery & Cecelia!”—JESSICA DAY GEORGE, New York Times bestselling author of Silver in the Blood

“Romance sizzles and deadly magic crackles in Rosalyn Eves’s electrifying debut. Prepare to be spellbound.”—JULIE BERRY, award-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa and All the Truth That’s in Me

“Everything I love in a fantasy: history, noblemen, magic, romance, and a revolution. Blood Rose Rebellion had me charmed from the first page.”—VIRGINIA BOECKER, author of The Witch Hunter

Blood Rose Rebellion is absolutely delicious. I devoured this tale of young love, beautiful monsters, and fiery revolution.”–JESSICA CLUESS, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning

“An enjoyable, fast-paced read with a likable protagonist with whom teens will identify.”–School Library Journal

“A magical tale unlike anything you’ve read before.”–bustle.com

“This richly imagined historical fantasy enchants while contemplating sexism, classism, and how best to effect social change. Intrigue, action, and star-crossed romance abound, propelling this trilogy opener toward a heartbreaking yet hopeful conclusion.”–Publisher’s Weekly

“A successful blend of fantasy, romance, history, and political commentary, this will find a broad audience.”–Bulletin

About the author …

11354583_10153361965410844_1430971138_o

Website | Twitter

Rosalyn Eves grew up in the Rocky Mountains, dividing her time between reading books and bossing her siblings into performing her dramatic scripts. As an adult, the telling and reading of stories is still one of her favorite things to do. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys spending time with her chemistry professor husband and three children, watching British period pieces, or hiking through the splendid landscape of southern Utah, where she lives. She dislikes housework on principle.

She has a PhD in English from Penn State, which means she also endeavors to inspire college students with a love for the English language. Sometimes it even works.

Rosalyn is represented by Josh Adams of Adams literary.

Her first novel, BLOOD ROSE REBELLION, first in a YA historical fantasy trilogy, is out now from Knopf/Random House.

 

 

Filed: Books

Leave a reply

Disclaimer:

We’d love your comments but ask that you please keep it polite. Although your views are definitely your own, we do not condone harassment or bullying and don’t want to see it here. We reserve the right to delete any comments for any reason, including being abusive, profane or off topic.

IMPORTANT!
We're thrilled at the different ways those in our Pitch Wars community are giving back—and we encourage them to do so. However, please keep in mind that Pitch Wars is not affiliated with any of these various contests, promotions, etc., including those of our mentors and mentees. Promoting any such opportunities via our social media channels doesn't imply endorsement or affiliation. We encourage you to do your research before participating.

Pitch Wars takes a stand. ANTI-BULLYING. Click here to review our policy


Check out our 2018 list of Participating Agents

Blog Archives

Blog Categories